Julie Fison Writer

Out now!


Yasmin Weston is on holiday when she learns that her son Daniel has been assaulted at home in Australia, leaving him with a debilitating brain injury. She vows to hunt down her son’s attacker.

Evie MacIntyre knows the Westons from school. She’s never had much time for Yasmin, and she dislikes Daniel because he bullied her son Brody. When Evie discovers evidence that Brody was involved in the attack, she is torn but decides there is no way she will let her only son go to jail.   

As two mothers wrestle with the consequences of their actions, two families suffer the shockwaves of one catastrophic night, and a punch that changes everything.

A contemporary family drama following two mothers at the centre of a tragedy, One Punch is for fans of Jodi Picoult and Liane Moriarty. 

Is your book club reading One Punch? You can arrange a virtual chat with Julie Fison to answer all of your questions.

Julie Fison catapults readers into the murky and contested waters of love, morality and justice from the first page of One Punch and holds them, transfixed, right till the end. It’s a story that exposes the consequences of unconditional love; the cost and burden this delivers parents, their children and anyone caught in its more nefarious orbit. One Punch is a raw, urgent and chilling portrait of family loyalty and the frightening repercussions of being blind to the faults in those we love. Read this book and your conviction about what is right and wrong will be changed forever. 

Sally Piper, Author of Bone Memories

One Punch takes a simple premise and turns it into a tight study of class and human nature – what we believe to be true about ourselves, and those we love, and who we really are. A crime is the pivot point for a sharp observation of human nature and blends compassion and humour in equal measure.

Meredith Jaffe, Author of The Tricky Art of Forgiveness

Release date: May 2022

JULIE FISON

Julie Fison is a Brisbane writer and travel lover. Her debut novel for adults One Punch is a contemporary family drama following two mothers at the centre of a tragedy. ‘A raw, urgent and chilling portrait of family loyalty and the frightening repercussions of being blind to the faults in those we love.’

Julie has also written many books for children and young adults. Her work includes the Hazard River adventure series for young adventure lovers, stories in the Choose Your Own Ever After series that let the reader decide how the story goes, and a play for secondary school students As the Crow Flies that brings together sport and spirits. What could possibly go wrong?

Get my monthly newsletter delivered to your inbox.

Choose Your Own Ever After

‘Tween girls will simply love this choose your own adventure style new series. Dealing with real world issues, How to Get to Rio gives the reader a delicious amount of power over the story they read – what will your Ever After be?

The Little Bookroom

Hazard River

Jack Wilde and his friends come up against smugglers, rogue developers and dodgy fishermen while holidaying at Hazard River. How will they survive the summer?

“The modern context, sporting through-line and intertextual references to supernatural tropes make this an excellent resource for our Year 10 course. I believe this text will resonate with students, but I also like that it is easily adaptable to a range of teaching and learning contexts.”

Books for young adults

Counterfeit Love

Lust and Found

Tall, Dark and Distant

Welcome to my world!

Tips for midlife adventurers